Nepali Agreement Paper

(Unofficial translation of the agreement signed by the leaders of the four parties on Monday night) 15. The constitutional process will be pursued on the basis of this fundamental agreement on federalism, forms of government, the electoral system and the judicial system. 5. A mixed electoral system is set up for parliamentary elections. Parliament will have 275 members. There will be 165 constituencies based on geography and population. A total of 165 members of the House of Commons are elected under the First Past the Post (FPTP) system. The remaining 110 is elected by the proportional system. 16. Local government elections will be held as soon as possible in order to strengthen the representation and participation of the people.

11. The concept of independent justice provides for the creation of an independent, impartial and effective judicial system. 2. A two-thirds majority of provincial assemblies will designate the provinces. 10. Until the next election of the House of Representatives, the amended Parliament will hold the election of the Prime Minister, the vote of confidence, the motion of censure and the formation of cabinets, in accordance with the Interim Constitution of 2007. The removal of the President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, Spokesperson and Deputy Spokesperson is in accordance with the 2007 interim constitution. The House of Lords will have 45 members-40 members will be elected equally from each State. The other five are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers. 3.

The Nepalese government will form a federal commission to recommend the delimitation of federal provinces. The Commission has a duration of six months. Parliament will decide definitively on the delimitation by a two-thirds majority, on the recommendation of the Commission. 9. After the proclamation of the new Constitution, the election of the President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, Spokesperson and Deputy Spokesperson will be organized by Parliament transformed in accordance with the 2007 Interim Constitution. 4. There will be a bicameral parliament comprising the Bundestag and the House of Lords. Provincial parliaments are surrounded. 12. The Supreme Court will be the registration court.

It is authorized to interpret the Constitution definitively. Bijay Kumar Gachhadar, President, Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Loktantrik Sushil Koirala, Prime Minister and President, Nepali Congress 7. To manage the affairs of the state, a federal democratic republic-system of multi-party parliamentary government is adopted. The party president, who has a clear majority or support from other parties in Parliament, becomes executive prime minister. (UCPN (Maoophone) has differences over the parliamentary system of government and the president of the Constitution. Despite this, the party says it is ready to move the constitutional process forward.) 14. The provision for the formation of the Judicial Council is defined in the 2007 Interim Constitution. 1. The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal will have eight provinces based on five identity criteria and four capacity criteria. 8. There will be a constitutional president in Nepal.

An electoral college of the federal Parliament and provincial assemblies will elect the president. 13. A Constitutional Court is established to settle jurisdictional disputes between the provinces and the Centre, between the provinces, between the provinces and local authorities, and the electoral disputes of the House of Representatives, the National Assembly and the provincial assemblies.

Comments are closed.